System Leadership & Innovation Committee

The SLIC is the education sub-committee of the BEP Board. It seeks to engage a representative group of all Headteachers from across the city, representing all types of schools, in the shaping of BEP priorities, informing the work of the Board and providing the executive with feedback and advice.

Every four years the SLIC elects two members, one primary and one secondary, to become full board members. Through all four headteacher board members and the BEP executive who attend both sets of meeting there is a strong channel of communication between the two groups.

Representatives come from:

a) Mainstream primary and secondary schools drawn from each primary consortium and secondary network across the city.
b) Special schools – 2 reps nominated by special schools forum
c) Nursery schools – 1 rep nominated by nursery schools forum
d) Selective schools – 1 rep from the city’s selective schools
e) The BEP CEO and DCSI shall service the SLIC

Future Meeting Dates

  • Tuesday 13th November 2018

  • Tuesday 15th January 2019

  • Tuesday 5th March 2019

  • Tuesday 14th May 2019

  • Tuesday 2nd July 2019


Fox Hollies/Acocks Green





Cole Heath

Soho Links




Hall Green


Gaynor Moore, Yardley Primary School

Richard Ellis, Summerfield Primary

Seat Available

Pat Smart, Create Partnership Trust

Mangal Singh, Wilkes Green Primary

Izhar Khan, Somerville Primary

Helen Rudeforth, St James Watt Primary

Anna Murphy, St John Fisher Primary

Sam Cosgrove, Barchelai Academy Trust; Helen Setchell, Green Meadow Primary

Paul Sansom, Chad Vale Primary

Paula Weaver, Allens Croft Primary; Sara Pechuer, Wheelers Lane Primary; Jon Gale, Colmore Teaching School




Perry Barr

Bham South

Bham North

Bham West Oaks

Bham Central

Sutton Coldfield

Bham East

Bham North West (Titan)

Bham South West Edge



Emma Grice, St Barnabas Catholic Primary

Ashley Winters, Brownmead Primary

Jeanettte Ashwin, Langley School

Wayne Simner, Calshot Primary

Debbie James, Swanshurst School; Roger McBrien, Moseley School

Philomeena Steele, St Edmund Campion; Marie George, Stockland Green

Julie Davies, Hillcrest School

Mark Gregory, ARK; Herminder Channa, ARK Boulton Academy

Seat Available

Glen Alexander, Archbishop Ilsley Catholic School

Jonathan Mortimer, Hamstead Hall Academy

Seat Available

Kay Reid, Lindsworth School

Laura Brodie, Allen's Croft Nursery; Claire Twigg, Newtown Nursery; Lesley Harris, Weoley Castle Nursery 

Can't see what you're looking for?

Please contact the office on or call 0121 285 0924